Hope

About 18 days ago, I received some seriously bad news from Vancouver about my mum’s health.  She recently celebrated her 80th birthday but still thinks I’m her baby, regularly phoning to check I am having a balanced diet and advising me to find a woman who can cook (long story… the cooking bit, not the woman bit).

The bad news plunged me into some dark & horrid places; I have been in those places before, sometimes it feels like I have a season ticket (isn’t life great?).  But this time, it is about someone who gave me life, who taught me, who inspired me, who literally *made* me into who & what I am, who always loves me unconditionally and who, despite my late father’s passing over 20 years ago, being of advanced age and having 3 sons with successful careers, has nonetheless steadfastly remained the undisputed head of the family, the north of our emotional compasses, the focus of our futures and a rock to which we have tethered our hearts & souls.  So the bad news came as a thunderbolt and shattered my world which grew darker and darker…

But today, more news arrived and a light has appeared at the end of the tunnel. It is not the solution to the problem, far from it… but it means there is now much hope that she will be with us for much longer than we had dared to dream of.

Hope is all one can have now, hope is the source of strength and hope is what keeps our hearts warm.

But don’t rely on hope, tell your loved ones how you feel about them, right now.  For me, I hope for many more years of maternal nagging & her botched attempts at match-making.

Now, this thing about Ken’s tax avoidance….

About Art Li

Briefly, I am a lawyer, keen amateur photographer, dog lover and politics junkie but not a member of any party. Full details on Biography page. Follow me on Twitter @Art_Li.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hope

  1. Pedro Stephano says:

    Mums are best. Love your mum.

Leave a Reply

